Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Could Someone Tell Me Where To Point My Scope?

I am still very new to all this telescope malarkey and will eventually get round to reading Turn Left at Orion (I already have it) but don't have time to do so before the next time I get the scope out...in five hours! I'm about to go to work and will get back at about 1:30am with just enough time to quickly (sort of) get the scope out and have a look around.

On my previous sessions I have spent time observing Jupiter (as it's easy to find) and Pleiades (also pretty easy) but I was wondering if anyone could give me directions to some other bits I can easily find tonight (I feel like the lazy jock trying to bully the nerd into doing his homework for him...except I'm not in the least bit jock-like!)

Anyway, must dash to work now. Thanks in advance!

P.S My scope is a Skywatcher 200p with the kit eyepieces.

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The scope will need an hour outside to reach thermal equilibrium else stars and detail on moon & planets will be fuzzy (although sometimes the atmosphere itself will make objects fuzzy anyway).

An 8 inch is a great scope ! Highlights at present are:-

Jupiter

The moon

The Orion nebula (M42),

The eskimo nebula in Gemini

M35 and the much more distant cluster NGC 2158 in Gemini

Andromeda galaxy & it's 2 neighbouring smaller galaxies

The double cluster and immediate surrounding area, in Perseus

Rigel and it's companion star in Orion

Castor a multiple star & Gemini's second brightest star

The milky way in the constellation of Monoceros

Numerous pretty double stars, many of which are challenging to see the fainter companion stars

The milky way in Auriga with many bright clusters