SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

M31 A different way of catching the light

ultranova

Hi Everyone, I Set my heart on capturing the Helix nebula on Friday but the atmospheric conditions were bad, all around me up to around 30 degrees it was bright orange, I could see know stars above magnitude 2-3 in the 30 degree belt surrounding me.

So I though I would have ago at M31 an old favourite of mine instead, Plus I am trying to perfect a technique that will help The Standard SLR or Astro modified SLR capture better data once combined that's the Theory anyway.

I have never tried it before but there might be something to it.

I put the SLR into Monochrome mode at 3200 iso to get me the luminance channel idea being that it should help not having the colour matrix active on the camera when it processes the data which in my thinking even though I could be wrong should help with the chip noise at very high ISO, because it does not process the colour Data or if it does it discards it not sure how it works to be honest.

Then I captured my colour subs at Iso 800 / 400 and 200 by putting the camera back into normal colour capture mode.

Then I combined them the Monochrome images for the light subs then I done the same for the colour the combined the Lot Tweaking along the way.

I don't know if doing it this way, without a direct comparison from the way I would normally do it if there would be much difference.

Has anyone else tried it like this, Do you think its worth more trial and error to find out if its a better way to capture.

The usual set up Quattro 8 inch cf modified Canon 1100d with cls clip filter,

neq6 pro mount , Mppc coma corrector,qhy5 auto guider with Phd

10 x 2 minute subs iso 3200 in monochrome

10 x 4 minute subs iso 800 in colour

10 x 2 minute subs iso 400 in colour

10 x 2 minute subs iso 200 in colour

No darks or flats (I will one day)

processed in PI and PE

Total 1 hour 40 minutes