NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Tent condensation

Mav359

Hi guys

Being a noob to camping & with me signing up for SGL8 I have started to slowly put my camping gear together starting with a tent and an air bed. Being the the child that I am i had to try it out so I pitchedthe tent in the garden.

I didn't sleep in it over night, I wanted to check it for leaks, see how the air bed fitted and stayed up over night and generally have a look. Very happy bunny, the air bed is as comfortable as my bed indoors and was as firm as I left it. The tent too I am very happy with, it's a Quechua pop up which even as a complete novice was able to put up and take down easy enough

The thing I found supprising was the amount of condensation that build up on the tent, the inner bedroom is almost like a tent within a tent so that was dry but the porch areas roof was quite wet, it had held the moisture and the ground and the few bits I'd left inside were bone dry but as soon as you put you hand to the roof the water would fall to the ground....

Is this normal, would a heater combat the condensation? Is there anything I can do to prevent it etc....

That explains a lot, the ground sheet for the tent tapers inward at the front and the porch area of the tent only sits on top of the ground sheet so it leaves the inside slightly exposed to the grass on either side.

I think I'll invest in an additional groundsheet to cover that portion of the ground and perhaps Velcro it to the inside to remove that exposure. As you have already said it wont remove the issue but it might help if the ground isn't exposed.

the good news is that modern tents dry off in a jiffy assuming it's dry.

my scope tends to get condensation on the primary when in the tent so I just de-cap in the morning (obviously being careful the scope does not face / cannot be blown around to face the sun) and it clears in no time at all.