Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

M27 Dumbell at 2.8m f/l

x6gas

Hi all,

This is my first attempt at guided DSO imaging with my HD11.

R 3 x 300s

G 3 x 300s

B 3 x 420s

Ha 2 x 420s

CGEM DX, Atik 383L, guided with IMG0H and PHD. Quick stack, stretch and colour align in AstroArt so I'll be able to get more out of it, I think.

Problems with the guiding on this one and I am getting star trailing on pretty much all of the subs. I clearly need to fine tune the PHD settings as the guide graph was distinctly alpine!

Still... it's a start...

post-11821-0-36410100-1344580648_thumb.j

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Thanks Mark. I probably could have gotten away with shorter exposures on this target, but eventually I'm gonna need to be up at 600 second or more subs on some things so need to get this nailed...

I guide with an OAG so I'm pretty sure I just need to tweak my PHD settings. I had the calibration step set too long for starters.

Thanks all for the encouragement.

The image in the original post was a very quick and dirty colour synthesis in AstroArt 5.

These two are colour combines in PhotoPlus.

The first using the combine Ha and R stack for the red channel and copying the blue and green images in to the relevant channel of the HaR image to produce the colour. I haven't done anything to clean the image up and I find this method less flexible and more difficult to get a good colour balance.

post-11821-0-07811700-1344774843_thumb.j

The second one is using seperate layers for each filter channel. More control, but I always get more noise using this method. I may try to creat a false Lum by stacking all of the subs and see if I can use that to improve the final result.

post-11821-0-48284800-1344774888_thumb.j

Hasn't changed the fact that the guiding is not enough, but I'm still practicing basic processing techniques!

:D