NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hi all

c_s_k22

Hi everyone, I'm Carol from Wolverhampton. I have always had a nagging interest in astonomy but have never answered the call. Recently though, I decided to take a short course with Open University - I graduated with them in 2000 and have never done anything since so I thought it was time to get the brain cells exercising again as I move towards my half century! Anyway, tonight I was outside with my planisphere and as I gazed up thoughtfully at the sky, this very bright ball of light shot across the sky. It sort of scared me a little because I don't have a clue what it was and I don't want anyone thinking I'm seeing things in my mad eagerness. The time that I saw this thing was around 9.15pm..... can anyone at all advise what it was or did anyone else see it?

Look forward to learning loads from you guys.

Thanks

Carol

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Carol and welcome to SGL! What you saw was most probably a meteor. If you're out for a while at night you'll usually see several of them. There's some very knowledgable people on this forum who will be able to help with any query you may have.

I've just spotted that its clear here :shock: so its time to get the scope out! :wink:

James

Hi Carol, welcome on board the good ship stargazers, have you a rough idea what direction you were looking in?? as for things in the sky, go outside on a good night and if you can sit back in a chair and just look up, you will see a wealth of things, the odd meteor, Iridium satellites, various other satellites and quite often now the international space station. Do a google for free sky charts ect and grasp your way around the sky.