Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Missing Quality control in Astronomy hardware?

buzz

I have only been interested in Astronomy for about a year now and the experience I have had points to a worrying lack of quality control in astronomy equipment manufacture (and design). This industry is clearly emergent in recent years and many manufacturers are niche and small affairs. To my mind however, this is not an excuse. I speak from personal experience since I have been a quality manager in a major automotive company and design and manufacture niche electronics for classical monochrome darkrooms and I am on the receiving end of customers problems too. I'll give some personal examples:

EQ6 mount - new - motor board failed in 1st week

EQ6 adjustment bolts handles have sharp edges and are not strong enough.

WO FLT98 with DDG R&P focuser - new - focus tube wobbles side to side and up and down like a £90 guidescope

WO GT81 scope - focus tube support bearings poorly adjusted and binding

GT81 scope rings are not deep enough for an attached dovetail to miss the focus lock

Berlebach tripod - missing spikes in the box

SX H18 CCD - returned twice for excessive blooming and then blackout at edges.

Motorised focuser, box marked as external sensor but none included

SX filter wheel - poorly adjusted wheel roller, fouls 2" filter as it goes past

Skywatcher powertank - refused to charge

WO FFIV - requires 0.5mm precision on setting but has a coarse scale in 10mm increments

Dewheater tape - bought new condition - short circuit

Tin plated contacts on hand controller, which require constant buffng to make reliable button presses (meade autostar)