Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

30 and 40mm with skyliner 200p

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I have a revelation 42mm 70 degree ep, gives a nice wide view but also the image is not dark due to the lp, if you have nice dark skies then this would be fine, if you suffer like I do I would get something like a 32mm. If money is no object then a 28mm uwa or Nirvana, mid range then a panaview 32mm, or revelation 32mm if u r on a tight budget.

your dob is f6 so I would tend to work on about 5x this so 30mm maximum. a 32mm plossl will give the widest field in a 1.25" and would be a good match. alternatively, go to 2" and maybe a 33mm WO SWAN or the Aspheric mentioned might be OK. depends what your budget is really.

I use a Hyperion aspheric 31mm eyepiece for wide viewing. I was recommended this by people on here and it was a good call.

I've recently bought the same and at the moment its my most used E/P but for quite a bit less the Panaview is also highly recommended.

One thing I cannot figure out, the plaeides is around 2 degrees I think, my 42 mm in my 1200mm 200p gives 28.57x magnification, the fov of the revelation 42mm is 70 degrees if I remember, which should give me 2.45 degree fov, yet I can't fit the pleases in the fov. So what gives? Is the revelation ep a lot less fov than is advertised or am I missing something

The 38mm Panaview is a good eyepiece but the 32mm version would be give a more usable exit pupil with your F/4.7 scope. They will show some astigmatism (distorted stars) in the outer parts of the field of view but that will be the case with other wide / ultra wide eyepieces unless you are able to invest in something like a Nagler, UWAN or Skywatcher Nirvana.

A coma corrector won't really help with the astigmatism I'm afraid.