NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Moon filter

What would be the best filter for viewing the moon, so I don't burn my eyeballs out. Any brand better than others, while your here what about other filters for viewing planets grey blobs and the like.

Gary

explorer 300pds

I like the Baader Neodymium - cuts light pollution and takes the edge of lunar light. But it's not as good at cutting intensity as a 'true' neutral density filter. Having said that, I just allow my eye to adapt to the lunar brightness, after 30 seconds it doesn't dazzle anymore.

Not sure how relevant this is, but my Skywatcher 150P allows you to leave the main cover on, and just unscrew a small cap. This reduces the aperture significantly, allowing you to view the moon comfortably without a filter. As a newbie, I don't know if this is a standard feature on most scopes, but it wasn't mentioned in the instructions - I found it by accident.

Simon

Not sure how relevant this is, but my Skywatcher 150P allows you to leave the main cover on, and just unscrew a small cap. This reduces the aperture significantly, allowing you to view the moon comfortably without a filter. As a newbie, I don't know if this is a standard feature on most scopes, but it wasn't mentioned in the instructions - I found it by accident.

Simon

Using a small aperture also reduces resolution dramatically. The feature is sometimes used for solar observation, although I much prefer full aperture solar filters.

I have a moon filter that came with a scope, a ND 0.96 and a neodynium and I don't use any for the moon

Hey Chris - what is the Neodynium filter like (OK I know it is small and round!!). Worth getting do you think? Is yours the Baader version?

In answer to the main question, I use both a moon filter and a ND depending on how full the moon is - the moon filter when it is a crescent and then the ND as more comes into view.