NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

My First M51 with Crab on the side

badgers

I'm in love with my HEQ5 Pro :)

Fixed a number of issues in the last week thanks to people on these forums.

• Dark frames are now sorted thanks to blocking light ingress into the scope.
  • I also had persistent collimation issues due to my focuser tube not being aligned, so that's all rebuilt and collimation is absolutely spot on again.

Anyway, I took my first crack at M51 inspired by Rick's amazing shots there.

Any advice on the colours, processing ? I'm a total novice at this and still don't have the eye to judge colour balance.

100 minutes light (10min subs @ ISO 800)

15 Dark Frames

20 Flat Frames

PixInsight Processed, DBE, Color Calib, HDR Wavelets, Levels Curves and Highpass filter in photoshop.

7067488877_d38c656470_b.jpg

7067488801_c89d19d076_b.jpg

I got something slightly different out of DSS followed by photoshop, not sure which is better. I have a feeling the one above is nicer.

6921389184_627303dd20_b.jpg

Also had a crack at the Crab Nebula while waiting for M51 to clear houses.

7067592445_6325af1420_c.jpg

All in all I'm really feeling like I'm making progress..

Big thanks to Rick and QM for more advice.

Any tips, pointers, ideas much appreciated!

Thanks cloudbuster,

I'm doing data-analysis all day, image analysis is slightly different, but similar enough that I'm feeling comfortable with the processing side. Applying wavelet transforms to galaxies is much more fun than applying it to DNA sequences :)

M51 was almost directly overhead when I took the shots last night, it made guiding tricky, but was pretty clean for LP.