Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hello from St Helens

Redstar

Hello! My name is Si and despite having a keen interest in astronomy for many years have only recently got into it more seriously. I am also a keen photographer and hope to fuse the two in the near future. I have a pair of Celestron Skymaster 25x70's and have recently purchased a Celestron 130EQm (which I am still trying to get to grips with!!) :icon_salut:

Hello Dobby (great name btw,) Zul and MikeP

Been out this morning gazing at Saturn. I could make out the basic outline but I couldn't really make out the rings. Should I be able to with a Celestron 130eq? Is it perhaps the quality of the supplied eye pieces? (10mm & 20mm erecting eyepiece)

You should be able to make out the rings but so much depends on the seeing ie how clear or turbulent the atmosphere is. If that wasn't too bad when you were observing, I'd next suspect the collimation of your scope.

The supplied eyepieces aren't the best quality but they should still be up to the job.

Mike

PS Collimation should keep you amused for a while :icon_salut::)

You should be able to make out the rings but so much depends on the seeing ie how clear or turbulent the atmosphere is. If that wasn't too bad when you were observing, I'd next suspect the collimation of your scope.

The supplied eyepieces aren't the best quality but they should still be up to the job.

Mike

PS Collimation should keep you amused for a while :icon_salut::)

I'm by no means an expert but the atmosphere seemed to be very clear. It was very crisp and cloudless in St Helens at 6.30 this morning! I've heard about this collimation m'larky! Doesn't sound nice.