NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

I am a dope, and I need you help.

So I am an amateur, and my wife bought me an amazing, and likely far too advanced, telescope for Christmas -- the Celestron C10- NGT. In reading the instructions manual I got it set up (I think) and realize that I need to power the scope (need an adapter to get the mount going), and need to collimnate as well... But I tried just to have a look thru the thing, in hopes that I could see some fascinating things, but no joy... The stars just look like stars, albeit slightly brighter. I am looking thru the 20mm eyepiece that came with, and cannot figure out how the 2" eyepiece adapter that also came with is used. It will not fit into the eyepiece aparatus no matter how I try. So I am left wondering do I have the right pieces? Is it pointless without powering the mount, and having it slew to the right stars to orient itself? Am I simply too big a nitwit to own a scope like this? What exactly am I supposed to do? The instruction guide is vague, insofar as it seems to assume I am not an astro-moron, and so is little help. Can anyone out there give some guidance to an enthusiastic beginner, likely over his head, with too much telescope? What do I do next?

Cheers, and thanks for any help

Welcome to the forum!

Don't feel you have to rush at it like a bull at a gate, you can take each of the issues one at a time. The most pressing is actually getting power to the mount, without that you won't be tackling anything else. There's "official" Celestron/Skywatcher ones which do the job but a lot of people on here use the car ones from Maplin Compact Battery Jumpstarter with 260 PSI Air Compressor : Jump Starters : Maplin Electronics Personally, I use a mains adaptor but you can use a mains to 12v adaptor or the like. Once there's leccy running to it then the goto function will be doing the business and showing you where everything is.