Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

TMB 6mm planetary (Type II) 1.25" eyepiece

They have a good name and not really heard any complaints as the performance to price is good.

However the 127 is 1500mm FL and with a 6mm eyepiece that means 250x.

Suspect that is at the limit of the scope and beyond the normal limits of seeing conditions in the UK. Usually 200x is reckoned to be the sensible max and again not all the time.

So the use you get of it could be minimal, couple of tmes a year if conditions are right. If they do a 7.5mm I would suggest that, (actually I would say get a 10mm and forget magnification). However the lure of magnification is great.

I get my best views with the 127MAK with an 8.8mm EP. A 10mm + 2x barlow is generally too much.

I have heard that the TMB II are nice EP's for the money, as are the TMB clones and TS HR planetary. All supposedly very similar but I have no direct experience with any of them.

That didn't help at all did it :)

Thanks for all the info :(

Think I may look at a slightly lower mag than the 6mm - any suggestions as I don't think the TMB comes in anything other than 6 or 4mm :)

I have a 32mm GSO on order as they've had favourable words written about them on here & which I'm led to believe will be good for wider FOV's?

it depends on your circumstances (e.g. if you wear glasses to observe) but my best eyepiece at that sort of magnification (178x) is a 9mm Baader Genuine Ortho. Superb value for money.

The field is narrow but for planetary use you don't need a wide field, especially if you have tracking.

it depends on your circumstances (e.g. if you wear glasses to observe) but my best eyepiece at that sort of magnification (178x) is a 9mm Baader Genuine Ortho. Superb value for money.

The field is narrow but for planetary use you don't need a wide field, especially if you have tracking.

Yes I do wear glasses to observe!

You say 'superb value for money' - how much we talking? :)