Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

my first widefield shots.

hi all, im very new to imaging so go easy lol! over the last few months alot of you have helped me in understanding what i could and what i couldn't get out of my equipment. i started wanting to do the great images seen with hours of processing and exposures at prime focus! luckly i got told that what im trying to do is a steep learning curve and 1 that with my gear will be close to impossible (eq2 mount, unguided, having to use a barlow lens as my telescope does not have enough inward focus) anyway 1 person on here told me to try starting with widefield piggybacked. (i really was trying to run before i could walk) anyway he tought me roughly how to do it and what i could expect. so a few nights ago i got my first image. i was blown away with how much detail i had and how good it looked! (for a newbie anyway)! but knowing that i caught this and processed on my own. i was hooked and wanted more. so i did another. this time a part of the milky way.. i have attached the images below.

anyway im going on cause im still excited but i love this. all you guys helped me in achiveing these so thank you to all.

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi CAL1985

as i said on your other thread, along with your obvious enthusiasm, these images, especially the last one, show signs of taking your hobby to a very good level. I never thought that any type of imaging was possible with the type of equipment that you have (apart from the camera). i'm not one to criticize, only being a DSO imager (and not a very good one at that!), but please next time, avoid the washing line and the LP! Lol.

looking forward to seeing more!

cheers

bob

Great shot there. Please can you post up the settings on the camera, exposure time etc and any filters used.