Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

35mm film cameras, which one?

Jaffa007

Hi All,

Hope this is in the right place, please move if not :p

I do have two digital camera's but not with 'bulb' capability. After looking at all the amazing photo's etc. And the reality that a 300D etc are all out of my price range :D. Webcam's, modified or not are also out due to cost & PC problems etc. So it's back to basics.

I'd like to start at the beginning. So my question is what 35mm film camera's [sLR type for afocal] should I be looking at, cheep'n'cheerful to mid price wise, with cable options etc for long exposer. I've had a look on 'ebay' :lol::D

And once everybody's stopped laughing :p some advice would be very much appreciated.

Thanks

Something like the Nikon F70 would suit you well. You could also use any lenses with the newer Nikon DSLR's like the D70. I am sure that Canon also make similar film bodies but I have no experience of using canon gear as i've always used Nikon.

Something like this perhaps:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Nikon-F70-SLR-Case-80-200mlens-35-80mmlens-manuals_W0QQitemZ330089282360QQihZ014QQcategoryZ30035QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Nikon, Canon, Olypmus - any one of those will do James.

As you point out, you'll need a B setting, and a release cable. Try to get one with a mirror lock-up facility, and preferably one that does not require batteries to hold the shutter open.

Manual SLR's are cheap, but of course, the trade off is the film and development costs

Nikon, Canon, Olypmus - any one of those will do James.

As you point out, you'll need a B setting, and a release cable. Try to get one with a mirror lock-up facility, and preferably one that does not require batteries to hold the shutter open.

Manual SLR's are cheap, but of course, the trade off is the film and development costs

Don't forget Pentax

I have an MX SLR, great camera but I hardly use it now.