Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Preparing to Sketch

Robny

Fancied the idea of giving sketching a go, particularly the sun, not sure why. So i have armed myself with the following:

Selection of pencils from hard to soft

Good Eraser

Blending Stumps

Sharper

Eraser Shield

A5 notebook

All of which must have cost under 15 quid. Any advice or useful links to tutorials would be much appreciated, im a TERRIBLE artist by the way but will be happy to share my mess and progress with you all.

Rob

Sent from my D5503 using Tapatalk

I was and still am a hopeless artist but with a little practice and the right equipment ( your equipment list looks good ) I surprised myself. Just by sticking to what I saw wasn't as hard as I thought it would be to get across. Plus an extra bonus is, sketching really does train the eye to see as much detail as possible from what you are observing, especially on faint objects such as galaxies. The Sun would be an excellent source to get started with though.

Thanks for the encouragement, I plan om keeping my failed attempts also (there will be many) so I see my progression.

Being a photographer it was hammered into me not to show your bad work for obvious reasons, with this I dont mind :)

Sent from my D5503 using Tapatalk

• 6 months later...

Hi Rob. I enjoy looking at members' sketches here,and I'm completely awed by some of the hard work,not to mention sheer talent exhibited. Just the other day,I was checking out the sketching forum on 'CLOUDY NIGHTS' and they have a pinned thread dedicated to members first sketches,which gives one some hope that sketching could be worth a try! As I've read many times before,one of the main effects of sketching at the eyepiece is that it makes you slow down,and actually LOOK at what you are seeing in far more depth.Anything of  'artistic' merit produced is a bonus! Might even give it a try myself sometime to help with my observing skills.

Hi Rob,