Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

HEQ5 PRO

Hello,

Really excited to have just recieved a second hand HEQ5 PRO :)....yey!

Anyway it didnt come with any power connections etc as I imagined it wouldn't so my question is how do I connect this thing to power?

I think I need something like this for mains power to the scope:

4A AC/DC POWER SUPPLY/PSU 12V/15V/16V/18V/19V/20V/24V on eBay (end time 16-Mar-11 11:30:38 GMT)

But I hope over the next month to bargain hunt for all the astrophotography /guiding equipment I will need and so would like to use some form of leisure battery. I have seen this one:

Leisure Battery 88ah - Marine and Caravan Applications: Amazon.co.uk: Sports & Leisure

Now how the heck do I power stuff from that? I have never used one before and have no idea what kind of connections would be needed?

My guide camera will be powered via the laptop, and DSLR camera runs off own battery. So I would need to power the handset Synscan, Mount, and laptop. Also what connections do I need to get the HEQ5 connected and controlled via laptop? I was planning on just connecting through the handset but not sure of the lead required?

Any help is much appreciated!

Ste.

Personally I would simply look out for a 12v @ 2a (or more) power block from something like Laptopshop (I use one that powered an old Netgear network switch) - with one that has so many variable voltages there could be a risk of blowing the controller at 28V

The alternative is for the cost of both the powersupply and battery you list you could look at getting a powerpack from maplins HeavyDuty 5in1 Jump Starter Free Delivery : InCar Battery Chargers and Compressors : Maplin

Thank you to all those who replied! information has been excellent. I think I finally understand how this all connects :)

I will go ahead and order my self a 12v leisure battery and also these: "Cigar Lighter Socket to Battery Terminal Adapter" :

Astronomiser - Automated Astronomy and AstroImaging Solutions