Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Phenix D127F1200???

Hi guys i thought id register after reading up theres a lot of great information on here :p

Im looking to buy my first scope and im thinking of buying the Phenix 127mm f/9.4 because of its good price, since its my first scope im pretty sure i will be happy with this im not to bothered about the violet rings but i am more bothered about deep space objects. I know a few of this board have this scope can you tell me what its like for deep space viewing? because its an f/9.4 does it make it completely useless for it and only good for planets? i know this might sound like a stupid question but im very new to this :D

Hi Tom, welcome to SGL :D

If deep-sky-objects is your thing then aperture is King and Gordon is right, a Dobsonian is your best bet. I have no experience of the Phenix 127mm but at f9.4, it sounds better suited to Planets.

Hello and welcome Tom. I've been waiting for somebody to chip in who has one of these 'scopes, but as it hasn't happened yet and I'm like that :D , I'll offer my two penn'orth anyway, even though I'm not familiar with your chosen 'scope.

On your budget refractor, does that 'scope include a mount? It seems like a reasonable deal if it does. However it is slow, i.e. has a big f/ number, which is not good for DSOs. For the faint things, you will need amplification of the amount of light getting to your eye rather than large magnifications. Many of the DSOs are surprisingly large and don't need a lot of magnification, so a similar aperture faster 'scope would suit better. The faster 'scopes have a smaller f/ number, which means lower magnification for a given eyepiece, but brighter views.