Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Imaging crisis.

simon84

I've recently started imaging with my newly aquired EOS 1000D, but I dont think I'm happy with it.

I bought it for a couple of reasons, one was price, the other was the dual use of it as I am a mad keen photographer anyway.

What I didnt really take into account was the overly large fov that a dslr will produce. I knew it was big but now I've been out there with it I'm just not happy.

I want to spend my time imaging DSO's and getting some nice full frame views of them with plenty of detail. Obviously I'm not going to get this with the 1000D as M51 looks like just two larger stars amongst a larger field of stars, an exageration I know but I would rather have a frame which is taken up with all the detail that M51 has to offer.

Whats the next move? I've been reading some first light reviews of cameras like the 314L, which at £1000 new is not impossible to save up for and going by CCDCalc will give me a much tighter fov and hopefully what I'm looking for.

What other cameras out there are going to give me that sort of image?

I'm at the moment leaning toward OSC as actual scope time isnt at a premium due to young children and a non permanent setup. I would love to go mono with narrowband but that will come later down the line.

I think most of my problems come from me personally never being happy with what I've got, I think I have most of the setup in place with the NEQ6 Pro, Equinox 120 and guiding in the form of a QHY5 finder/guider. I just need to find the right camera.

Sorry for the rant but I know you guys will understand.....well I hope you will.....lol :)