Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Greetings

Bigbear

Hello all, Bigbear here.

I'm a total novice when it comes to astronomy.

I found this site while searching for reviews of binoculars. I read many reviews of the Bresser binoculars that are often on sale at Lidl. Well, I live in South East Asia and so have no Lidl. I managed to track down a pair of 10x50 Bresser Travelview bins. The first pair had collimation problems. Soon returned and received another pair. Really impressed so fair. It is a beautiful clear night and had a great look at the moon.

I have a question. I would like to mount the Bressers on a tripod. Can I simply use a camera tripod? I am a little confused about the technical things people have written about on this forum. Would a simple camera tripod be fine. I already have the "L" mount that came with the Bressers.

Any help would be appreciated.

Bigbear

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Bigbear,

A warm welcome to SGL :rolleyes:

To answer your question, I think it should be possible. Not sure how as I don't have one of those L-pieces to check. Hopefully someone else can give a definitive answer.

HTH

Hi from me too - the L shaped adapter should fit to the top of a standard photo tripod. It just screws down to the top of the tripod using the same fitting as a camera has on its base.

The other end fits to the binos - along the centre line of the binos where they hinge - at the front there should be a small plastic or metal cap (usually they have the makers brand logo on them or are just plan) this unscrews or unlcips and the other end of the L bracket fits on there.

You may need a tallish tripod as already mentioned.

Any questions just ask up

:rolleyes:

Welcome to SGL BigBear