Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Beginner accessories for SW 150PL?

Hi,

I am relatively new to astronomy, and I am getting my first proper scope for Christmas which is the SkyWatcher 150PL + EQ3.

Does anyone else have this scope, or think of any additional accessories such as lenses, filters, sights etc that may be useful and worth getting to go with it?

I have Stellarium for my computer, SkyWalk for my iPhone, and the book Turn left at Orion. All of which I thoroughly recommend to any other beginner.

Thanks in advance

Now is the time to take your time and start to learn your way around the sky with the new scope. After a while you will find where your intrests lie and will get an idea of what additional equipment will help you. A good atlas (can be downloaded for free) will help as a start. It may seem odd but a pair of 10x50 binoculars would be a useful addition to your armoury - you can practice "star-hopping" and finding objects - then use the scope, if appropriate, for a "better" view.

I'd get a dewshield, red light torch and leave it at that. Get some eyeball time in, go to some star parties and find out what you want next.

Theres almost no limits to upgrades on a 150/EQ3 - most people will move on up to a bigger scope but if you wanted to stay with it you could upgrade an awful lot.

Its a good bit of kit and when I started in astro probably the biggest scope most people could hope to own.

I'm sure you'll love it - any questions just ask up.

Peace and clear skies to you.

I agree 100% with Bizibilder - don't rush into accessories until you have the scope and have used it for a while. You get enough to get you started with the scope and there are so many accessories but only you will know the ones you need - after you have had the scope for a while and have learned more about where your interests lie.

John