Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

whjy such a price jump between 5 inch and 6 inch reflectors?

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Interesting question - is the price of a mirror related to the cube of diameter (i.e. do you predominantly pay for the glass it's made of) or to the square (i.e. do you pay primarily for the figuring and coating)?

Too bad I'm still meant to be working....

yeh for dobsonian its not much but if I want a standard newtonian type one its 129 for the explorer, then the 6 inch one is approaching over £200

dobsonians seem a little big for me, and how well can you use the mount to find things?

I am new to all this as you can probably tell

Sorry for butting in, I was going to post a new thread on this question (highlighted above) very, very curious about how people manage to track anything with a Dob' esp' when using the higher mag's. I just have a hard time trying to visualise how it would be done!

very, very curious about how people manage to track anything with a Dob' esp' when using the higher mag's.

No problem if the bearings are good.

Going back to the original point .... 6" equatorially mounted Newtonians are usually supplied with a much sturdier mount than 5" types. This reflects the distinction between a 5" which is essentially (in my opinion) a jumped up toy and a 6" which can be a true scientific instrument.

No problem if the bearings are good.

This reflects the distinction between a 5" which is essentially (in my opinion) a jumped up toy and a 6" which can be a true scientific instrument.

Have you ever looked through a TAL 1, a 4.5 " scope ? :)

I think youre being a bit hard on sub 6" optics , "jumped up toy" ?? get over yourself