Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hello from Cheshire

Red Wulff

Hi all, looking forward to participating on the forums, I was a very keen astronomer in my teens (some years ago now) but then family life and living in the city got in the way. I'm now in my forties and fortunate enough to live in rural Cheshire with dark skies, and I'm about to go out and buy my first telescope for 30 years!

I'm planning to purchase a scope from Orion Optics, so looking forward to hearing people's views on the models etc. I'm a keen photographer so really want to have a go at astrophotography as soon as I can.

I feel like a kid at Christmas again, can't wait to take delivery.

RW

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Tinvek, thanks for saying hello, I'm in between Warrington and Northwich, just off the A49. I get nice dark skies to the south, Warrington and Runcorn make a bit of a mess of the northern horizon but I can't complain, I'm properly away from any street lights or towns.

Welcome back! I'm another recent return to star gazing. I'm lucky enough to be in the hills away from a lot of seriuos LP, although the neighbours are rather fond of their 24 hr daylight back yard!!!!! I've got plenty of good viewing patches where outbuildings sheild any "bad light". Worst problem seems to be wind/rain/cloud, but I've been able to catch a few good views of Jupiter, venus and "some stars..."

Hi all, looking forward to participating on the forums, I was a very keen astronomer in my teens (some years ago now) but then family life and living in the city got in the way. I'm now in my forties and fortunate enough to live in rural Cheshire with dark skies, and I'm about to go out and buy my first telescope for 30 years!

I'm planning to purchase a scope from Orion Optics, so looking forward to hearing people's views on the models etc. I'm a keen photographer so really want to have a go at astrophotography as soon as I can.