SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Its my first time ...

Wozz

... so be gentle with me.

Or, to put it another way, join me on my journey of discovery and maybe relive some of your first moments of wonder.

So, armed with my 10x50's and several star maps I ventured forth into my small garden and looked up. I couldn't see too much at first and hoped that was due to my eyes slowly switching their working mechanisms rather than the rather annoying street light right next to my garden.

After a while I was able to see more and more in the sky, unaided, as I let my eyes settle. A quick referral to my compass and a star map and I was roughly oriented. It would seem my garden is ideal for gazing south and east and not so good with north and west (due to the street light abd my house being in the way). So I instantly started thinking of local locations (Chester - happy to take suggestions) where I would gain more of a rounded view at night.

So, sat in my chair I positioned my star map and looked up trying to locate the star that, from my position, should have been fairly prominent ... Deneb.

The problem was that, as a new boy, I thought I had found it but I wasn't entirely sure. Moving the binoculars to my eyes didn't give any real proof. In fact it made me more confused as more and more stars become visible.

This moment of consternation led me to re-assess my approach so I dropped the binoculars and picked up the star map again. After some pondering and a quick reference to the magnitude legend I found what I should have been looking for (no, not Polaris sadly, my house was in the way) ... Vega.

Bingo - that one was easy. Big ole bright thing pretty much right above my noggin! Yay - I found something!!!! Maybe there was hope for this novice after all.

Right, so I had vega in my sights, the rest should be easy. Well, sort of. I started by tracking east to find Deneb now I had my bearings relative to Vega.