Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Imaging with a SkyWatcher 150/750P. How (If possible) do you increase the FOV ?

Hey,

I’ve only recently gotten started in Astrophotography. I’m fairly new to the hobby but I’ve done quite extensive research. My setup is composed of a Sky Watcher 150/750P, an equatorial NEQ3-2 Pro Goto mount, and a Fujifilm x-t2. I’ve taken a few pictures of the Andromeda galaxy, the moon, the hercules globular cluster, and the North America nebula. I’ve noticed that for the North America nebula, I can only capture so much of it as I am pretty zoomed in on it. I was wondering if there is anyway to increase my FOV to capture more of my targets.

Other than that, any tips, suggestions and targets that anyone can help me on would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance

You can buy focal reducers, I have two of them for my 115mm APO. One is a .79 focal reducer and the other is a 0.6, I think. I say I think because I tried it and it needs shims to get the corners sharp, so it doesn't work straight out the box on my scope which it should. I don't happen to have any shims. I probably should have returned it to FLO but as I live abroad I just couldn't be bothered so it's on the shelf. I am not sure how they would work with your scope but FLO are knowledgeable bunch and I am sure could advise you as to the best choice, just because I have one that don't work well first time, it doesn't mean it won't for you.

Alan

There is a technique to increase photographic FOV with any telescope without using additional equipment, but it does require some skill and practice and advanced use of software.

You can always make mosaic image of the target. Shoot several panes and then stitch them prior to processing the image.

However, in order to do that - you need to plan mosaic layout and be able to point the telescope at exact place - which is usually done by plate solving.