Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Dust/smudge on my telescope -.- clean it?

Hello again! My second post. 

I' ve saw some dust on my mirror and bought some propane air can to just blow it away. But I think some stuff from the can has blown out and hit the mirror. Its like a  fat/dust screen (or really fine dust). I didnt really notice it in daylight when I checked mirror but yesterday I was trying out my telescope outside and I checked the mirror in the dark with some light and then I noticed. I dont really know how much it effect the view couse in daylight the mirrior looks fine, unless I tilt the telescope to an angel where the fat/smugde reflects. Do I need to clean my mirrior? If so is it easy to clean? And I bet ill need to coliminate it after. 

And a pic of my stuff, it looks bad and homwmade but Ive made some "protos" of what I had available, untill I order the right material. I'm new to all this. 

20230225_200532.jpg

Snapchat-1270683672.jpg

Edited by 123Star
Correcting

It's common advice not to use compressed air cans to blow dust off a mirror.  As you have found, the propellant can also exit the can and leave a deposit on the surface.    I doubt that it will cause a problem and in view of your declared inexperience it might be best to leave it rather than invite further problems.      🙂

• Like 2

Hnmm. Maybe best to leave it for now then. I thought it would be an easy job. My solution was to buy some acetone and just spray it on and then rinse with distilled water and dry with a hairdryer, outside. But I need to get the mirror out etc so yea maybe best to wait. Thanks! :) if no one has an easy fix? 

Determining 'easy' depends on your skill and experience, as well as the right tools and materials.

I'm not sure I fully agree with @Peter Drew this time - a rare event that warrants an explanation.😁
A compressed air canister should contain only dry air and a propellant that readily evaporates.