SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

To make my eq5 go-to an autoguide

Marian

Hello everyone. 
I have this tripod https://www.bresser.de/en/Astronomy/Accessories/Mounts/BRESSER-Messier-EXOS-2-EQ-GoTo-Mount.html , it’s been working just fine, but I’d like it to make it work for longer exposures. I mounted the Svbony 80ed telescope on it.
Now, as far as autoguide, I am a total noob. I know, I need a guide scope with a guide camera. But I’d like it to work as painlessly as possible for me to make effort in learning new skills in astrophotography without being frustrated in buying stuff I don’t know. The mount features ST-4 compatible autoguiding input. If there is someone so kind to suggest what to buy and what software I’ll need to get and learn. 
I’ll be happy to answer any questions. I hope, my inquiry is not too bold.

4AE1D7D5-9BBB-4E95-AA81-A9B0CDA7205F.jpeg

63F39776-5CF2-4829-95E1-A6B753B70B6C.jpeg

0EA0DC38-A1B0-47A1-9724-7AF8E4B00D21.jpeg

Edited by Marian

• Marian changed the title to To make my eq5 go-to an autoguide

Hi

Assuming you have a suitable computer.

Hardware:

Either convert your existing guide telescope (looks familiar but I'd rather not guess) to accept a guide camera or, perhaps better:

https://a.aliexpress.com/_EHmNCD7

with

https://a.aliexpress.com/_EzkPFXF

This includes all the necessary cables. Fix the guide telescope rigidly across the top of the rings. Use a separate bar if necessary, but make it as immovable as possible.

Software:

https://openphdguiding.org/downloads/

Whilst you're waiting for delivery, read ALL of the excellent PHD2 software manual.

Good luck and HTH