SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Fpl51 vs fpl53

quimby44

I'm not an expert in glass, but I think in a doublet you would certainly see the benefit of FPL53 over 51. At F6 you will still probably get a small amount of CA, but it should be minimal. I cannot comment of this specific scope as I have no experience. However, for a small wide field scope, it should be OK. I assume this would be for imaging?

20 hours ago, Clarkey said:

I'm not an expert in glass, but I think in a doublet you would certainly see the benefit of FPL53 over 51. At F6 you will still probably get a small amount of CA, but it should be minimal. I cannot comment of this specific scope as I have no experience. However, for a small wide field scope, it should be OK. I assume this would be for imaging?

23 hours ago, quimby44 said:

Hi I was wondering is there a significant difference between fpl51 and fpl53 i am thinking about getting a rvo horizon 60ed many thanks Stephen 

It is hard to tell.

Both FPL-51 and FPL-53 have potential to behave in a certain way - but will they, depends on what is the mating element and how well the glass is figured.

If we assume that both are reasonably well executed, then there are two parameters that we need to consider - one is F/ratio of the scope and other is aperture.

For slow enough scopes - there won't be significant difference.

For small enough aperture - there won't be significant difference.

I know that there is difference between the two at 4" F/7.

I think there might be difference at 80mm F/7

At 60mm F/6 I simply don't know if there will be significant difference. Even if there is some difference - use of special UV/IR cut filter like Astronomik L3 (which is advised for fast doublet anyway) - should even the playing field.

• Like 1