Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

3D Printing question

Anthonyexmouth

Any 3d printers out there know if it would be possible to print a graduated ring to slip over a rotator which doesnt have any markings? the rotator is 77mm diameter. 1 degree marks would be nice but 2 degree wouild be ok. I've never dont any printing and not sure whats possible with it. I'm looking for options to get a scale on my rotator. 

15 minutes ago, Anthonyexmouth said:

Any 3d printers out there know if it would be possible to print a graduated ring to slip over a rotator which doesnt have any markings? the rotator is 77mm diameter. 1 degree marks would be nice but 2 degree wouild be ok. I've never dont any printing and not sure whats possible with it. I'm looking for options to get a scale on my rotator. 

Probably.  I'm not an expert, but I've printed lens caps with threads which are quite precise. 

Might need a bit of iterative design to get a best fit but it's certainly possible.

• Like 1

Not really sure if that is going to be possible.

Even if it is possible - it won't be easy on regular printer - you would need one capable of printing with two filaments.

Marks that are in same color are rather difficult to spot so you need two color printing. There are tricks to do filament change on printer with single extruder and in principle - you can "write text" or do similar things on top of print - so that can be used, but I'm not sure about precision.

You say that you have 77mm diameter and you need single degree marks?

77mm diameter will have around 242mm of circumference. That divided with 360 degrees leaves about 0.67mm per "tick" / "mark". That is very small for regular FDM printer with 0.4mm nozzle. Positioning of the print nozzle is not a problem - it can position itself with enough precision - it is the width of extrusion that is the problem - you would have something like 0.4mm mark (single extruded line) then 0.27 gap and so on. Too close for comfort really.