Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Failed meridian flip with NINA

Richard_

I've been using NINA for a couple of months and up until now I haven't experienced any issues with my meridian flips. I have been shooting M101 Pinwheel galaxy over three past few nights and every time I shoot it I get problems after the meridian flip which stops the imaging session unless I intervene. I've imaged other targets in this region of the sky (M81, UGC 7306) with the same (mostly default) meridian flip settings without issue. I've increased the settle time after flip and also the time to wait after passing the meridian before flipping but I still get failures. The only thing I can think of is that M101 is very close to the zenith (87°) whilst M81 and UGC 7306 are lower down (73° and 72° respectively) so perhaps my mount has some safety limits in the EQMOD ASCOM driver which is preventing it from doing the flip? Is there something I'm missing?

Details

On the first night, the autofocus routine appeared to keep looping and never achieving focus. Focus was OK all night (HFR did not change more than 10% from first autofocus). I disabled the forcing of autofocus after the meridian flip and set out for the second night of imaging.

On the second night, the meridian flip was performed but the plate solving failed (ASTAP) as the image had star trailing present. I could only assume that the mount was still slewing while it was taking the plate solve image. The screenshot below shows NINA when I checked it at 6am the following morning. I increased the scope settle time from 30s to 90s thinking that 30s was not enough time to settle and I also increased the time after meridian from 5 minutes to 10 minutes.

On the third night I woke up to find another failed meridian flip with star trailing observed on the images for plate solving. So it looks like upping the settle time and time after meridian did nothing.

• Software: NINA v2.0 BETA
  • Mount: Skywatcher EQ6-R