Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Can't see anything!

Hi all, 

I'm brand new to stargazing. I've got a Skywatcher 14" GoTo Dobsonian. I was pretty sure I set everything up correctly, but clearly I haven't. I can see just fine through the finder scope. But when I look into the eyepiece, I don't see a thing. Just a solid blur. I'm pretty sure there must be something wrong with the mirror alignment, but I really don't know where to begin. Please help! Happy to send photos of anything that might help. 

2 hours ago, Hillsdale said:

Hi all, 

I'm brand new to stargazing. I've got a Skywatcher 14" GoTo Dobsonian. I was pretty sure I set everything up correctly, but clearly I haven't. I can see just fine through the finder scope. But when I look into the eyepiece, I don't see a thing. Just a solid blur. I'm pretty sure there must be something wrong with the mirror alignment, but I really don't know where to begin. Please help! Happy to send photos of anything that might help. 

Take a picture of what you see down the drawtube/focuser of the telescope, without an eyepiece in it, and post here. that might help somebody figure out if your mirrors are misaligned.

2 hours ago, Hillsdale said: