SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Beginner advice: Set or individual?

Hi,

Apologies if this is in the wrong section. Mods, please move to relevant section if needed.

So, I have splashed my cash on a f/5 10" lukehurst dobsonian. My dilemma is that as a beginner, I have no eyepieces and the scope won't come with any.

I am wondering, should I get a set, or maybe start with some better quality individual eyepieces and build my own set slowly? I would be happy with just starting with wide field of view. I am super excited to start looking at stars in general and star clusters! No need to go hunting for anything difficult to begin with. Any links to useful articles would be very much appreciated.

Sorry again for being lazy and not doing my own research here. I am hoping the hive knowledge can save me some time! I have no idea about price, but could probably stretch to get a set at around £300-400 if it was a more cost effective way to do it. I am wary of 'beginner sets' that might just prove to be a waste of money in the long run.

Thank you. Stephen

• Like 1

If you are a beginner, you don't know what you like in eyepieces yet.

If you wear glasses, you are obviously looking for longer eye relief eyepieces (say, 18.5mm or longer eye relief), but you don't know yet whether you prefer 60° fields or 80° fields or 100° fields.

So here is a rational way to approach it:

But some inexpensive 60° apparent field eyepieces that yield multiples of 60x (OK in a 10"), so 60x, 120x, 180x, 240x, 300x

[divide the focal length of the scope by the desired magnification to discover what focal length eyepiece yields that power]

That should cost you £300-350 total if you shop.

Now you have something for every object size and brightness, from a large faint nebula to a small planet.