Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Beginner advice on 130P upgrades.

Hello everyone

Newbie here, After deciding to buy a telescope last year and opting for a 130p explorer and then finding out about supply issues, I managed to acquire a Skywatcher Starquest 130p from FLO. 

I've bought Turn left at Orion which has been a massive help, as has the advice on here but I have two questions: firstly upgrading the finder-scope, I've found the red dot finder obscures targets even at low settings, any ideas for a suitable replacement,think i would prefer a correct image one.  Secondly I was going to upgrade the 10mm eyepice that came with it, i thought about the BST 8mm or even the 6mm?

What do you people think given my telescope.

Thanks in advance

• Like 1

Hello and welcome.

No experience of them, but a lot of people use the Rigel or Telrad finders. I think the Telrad may be too big for your scope, but I'm sure someone else will be along to comment. They are essentially like red dot finders, although with rings rather than dots.

I have a set of BST starguiders that I bought to improve my viewing experience with my 150p dobsonian (I got 25mm, 12mm, 8mm and 5mm). They are great eyepieces for the money. If you wanted to save a bit of money you could get a 2x Barlow lens, which will give you twice the magnification for a given lens - so for example, an 8mm would give you 81x, assuming the focal length of your telescope is 650mm; with a Barlow that would be 162x.

Welcome to SGL!

I started with the StarQuest 130p, it's a great scope! I just upgraded to a 150P explorer, but that was more to do with a mid life crisis/retail therapy then any issues with the scope.  I got lots of great advice on here (and still do!).