SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

More questions on ASI1600MM Pro - Gain

Hi, I've got some more questions on using the ZWO ASI1600mm Pro...this time on gain.

Is gain similar to ISO on a DSLR?

I've seen most people have been recommended to start out using unity gain, so I started off with that the other night, and took 28 x 300s subs with the L filter on M63.

Tonight I've been taking subs with the R filter (180s) on M63, however, I increased the gain to 250 when focusing and didn't change it back to unity gain when I started imaging. Will the mismatch in gain in the L vs R be a problem when it comes to combining the L with the RGB?

Should I continue with gain 250 for the G and B subs and keep the L subs that I shot at unity, redo the L at 250, or redo the R at unity? 

Any other general advice regarding best gain to use would also be appreciated.

Thanks!

Edited by Adam1234

Not sure, i'm no expert by any means, but i would think the R data is going to be much brighter than the rest shot at unity.

Personally i shoot LRGB at gain 76 and narrowband at 139, because that seems to be the consensus.

The higher the gain, the lower the full well capacity, so high gain low exposure time, like ISO on a camera.

This post might be useful as a guide.

I've got the ASI1600mm-Pro myself and have only recently been getting my head around all of this.

A few things I've learned:

Gain doesn't change the sensitivity of the camera.

Each pixel can be thought of as a bucket (or a well - hence the term 'well-depth') that collects photons in a similar way that rain drops would collect in a real bucket.

At the end of the exposure, the fuller the bucket, the higher the ADU value for the pixel (higher ADU = lighter, lower ADU = darker).