NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Are these binoculars any good for a newbie?

Hi everyone, a stargazing newbie here. 

I'm considering to get a 10x50 for my first ever pair of binoculars, I had browsed the forum and seems like that's the most popular one. I was considering 7x50 as well but unsure which one I should pick. 
I've had my eyes on Orion Scenix 10x50, Pentax 10x50 SP, Nikon Aculon 10x42 CF or Olympus 10x50 DPS. Are those any good for complete newbie? Or is there a brand there that people tend to avoid? Budget is £100 max. 

In terms of tripods for binoculars (if getting bigger ones) are they universal or does one type only fits specific models?

The goal is to get familiar with the night sky and objects, and then maybe move on to a telescope in 1-2 years. Any advice to get started is welcome! Thank you.

Hi and welcome to the forum.

I've seen the Olympus recommended but I don't know it or the others personally, but all are well known brands. Ideally you'd want a pair that are waterproof given it may pick up condensation on cool/cold nights. A tripod socket would be ideal too since any bino will benefit from being stable to get the best views with them. You may find for hand-held use an 8x is easier to keep steady and also have a wider field of view. Generally at the low price end a porro type will be brighter than a roof prism design but you may get lucky and find a bargain.

If you check the specs on the ones you're interested, what Field of View do they list? The wider the better, older 10x tended to be 5 degrees, some newer ones are 6.5 or more which will let you see more, personally I've a pair of Minolta and they're 6.6 degree and are nice to use.

Tripod/monopods you would usually need a mounting bracket to use, something like this one if the bino has a tripod socket
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Opticron-Binocular-Tripod-Mount-Binoculars/dp/B005F51HE8/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&keywords=binocular+tripod+bracket&qid=1589954531&sr=8-1