Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

ZWO ASI 120 MC coloured dots??

I am trying to set up an all sky camera and its outside now for first light after much testing indoors.

The attached image was taken a few minutes ago and as the sky has got darker lots of coloured dots have appeared.

I have never used a colour camera before so please excuse my ignorance !!

I have turned the gain down to 50 but all it seems to have done is make the image darker - the coloured dots are still there.

Is this 'noise' or something else ??

Attached an image from just now and one from earlier when the sky was much lighter.

HELP !!

image-20200313192606.jpg

image-20200313200628.jpg

Yes this is noise - it is much reduced when the sensor temperature is lower.

In experiments with / without a peltier cooling the camera body of my ZWO 178MC, there was a marked difference in cooled vs uncooled colour noise.

It also appears to be read noise - longer exposures were less noisy than multiple short ones.

If you're new to it, just experiment with all settings / exposures etc until you xero in on the best you can get, which will be different every night!

10 minutes ago, Laurin Dave said:

Looks like hot pixels to me..  what software are you using? Can it do automatic dark or bad pixel map subtraction ?

It can do automatic dark subtraction - its not set up yet - I will try that but I wanted to be sure to know what the issue is before altering anything.

6 minutes ago, Jonk said:

Yes this is noise - it is much reduced when the sensor temperature is lower.

In experiments with / without a peltier cooling the camera body of my ZWO 178MC, there was a marked difference in cooled vs uncooled colour noise.

It also appears to be read noise - longer exposures were less noisy than multiple short ones.

If you're new to it, just experiment with all settings / exposures etc until you xero in on the best you can get, which will be different every night!