Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Problem linking mount to PHD2

Hello,

I am currently having 2 issues getting my first scope and guide rig up and running. 

This issue is with regards to getting my Orion Sirius EQ-G mount with SynScan handset linked to PHD2.

I have installed the ASCOM drivers that have been advised (on PHD2 website) should work with all SynScan handsets however I do not see the device on my laptop and cannot connect via PHD2 wizard.

I am new to all of this but some starter questions:

- I have an ethernet cable that was going to be used to connect guide camera to mount but reading on the subject suggests it is better to go via ASCOM. I am using the same ethernet cable to connect to my laptop... is the right? The seems to be the only free input on mount.

- Are there any other drivers that I should use or anything else I should look for... other drivers I should have but maybe don't?

- Other suggestions?

Thanks!!

Lance

58 minutes ago, Lancebloke said:

I am using the same ethernet cable to connect to my laptop

Hi

Are you sure it's an ethernet cable? It maybe a st4 cable to connect your guide camera to the mount.

Do you have the correct cables to join the handset to the computer? If you wish to retain the handset, you'll need a USB to serial cable to complete the connection. Or -better- lose the handset and connect the mount directly to the computer using an eqdir cable. You'll also need eqascom on top of Ascom.

Maybe some photos of what you have may help us to get you started.

Cheers

• Like 1

3 hours ago, alacant said:

Hi

Are you sure it's an ethernet cable? It maybe a st4 cable to connect your guide camera to the mount.