Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

SVBony eyepieces?

So as a Christmas gift from the wife, she is looking to get me some eyepieces. As I wear glasses, some relief would be welcome, but don't want to spend lots of money as I'm only new to the hobby.
Currently I have a 25mm orion that came with my orion dob. 
I've the celestron 20mm, 15mm, 6mm and 4mm. The relief on the 6 and 4 is very bad. 
I've a 2 and 3x Barlow too. 
I'm looking for something with a wider afov and better relief. 
I came across svbony on amazon and seem great value. 
Has anyone any experience with these. 
They also do a 66degree afov range which also get good reviews and are cheaper. 
Anyway here is the set I'm looking at. Any advice welcome. 
Scope is Orion 8inch dob, 1200mm and f5.9.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Svbony-Eyepiec ... NrPXRydWU=

The Svbony 62 degree eyepieces are plastic bodied with plastic lenses and a metal barrel. However the longer focal lengths are actually not that bad and are certainly usuable. I bought one of the 23mm ones to try and it is probably wotrh the small amount you pay but there are better ones out there for a bit more. Havent tried their wider angle ones so don’t know what they are like.

A0D2D801-89D2-4A51-B104-AF8338671D86.jpeg

Edited by johninderby

Have no idea what they are like as I've not used them, but they do look conspicuously like known "gold line" range of eyepieces.

Maybe have a read on that line of EPs to get idea of their performance, although SVBony states 17mm eye relief for whole range - gold line eps differ in ER from 14.8 to 15mm and gold line is quoted at 66 degrees vs 68 of SVBony, EP sizes and range of magnifications seem to match that of gold line.

• Like 1

Can I throw something else into the equation?

Why do you wear glasses?
What sort of correction do they offer?
Near/far/astigmatism/varifocal?

The reason for asking is that you do not need to use glasses with an eyepiece if it is just distance correction.