Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Changing from a 1.1" Mirror to a 1.3" mirror in a reconfigured TAL-1 - Good idea?

My wonderful TAL-1 (original), that has had it's primary raised by 28mm to achieve focus with modern eyepieces (no longer the original 32mm eyepieces) in the focuser.  

It is of course, a 110mm f/7.3 primary, with a 27mm/36mm secondary.  Sadly, it has a damaged secondary (scratched, sides degrading).

I would like to replace it, and frankly, as I love this scope so much, I don't mind getting an upgraded quality Antares mirror to do it - but the smallest they come in is 1.3".  

So, I am wondering, will that improve the quality of the view, or is the light gathering going to be poorer? 

To be clear, I want to use this more as a deep sky scope and less of a planetary scope - so a fuller Illumination sounds good.  

I'm not good with maths and am struggling with the instructions on Gary Seronik's page.  Can someone who is familiar with the scope go through the numbers and tell me the minimum secondary size, so I can make an educated guess on whether a 1.3" secondary would be worth it?

Incidentally, I also need a replacement TAL focuser, so if you have one spare, let me know.  :D

Teleskop Service has 25mm, 28mm and 31mm diagonal mirrors with 94% reflectivity.

https://www.teleskop-express.de/shop/product_info.php/info/p10193_TS-Optics-Newton-Fangspiegel-elliptisch---D-25-mm-kleine-Achse.html

https://www.teleskop-express.de/shop/product_info.php/info/p1666_TS-Optics-Newton-Fangspiegel-elliptisch---D-28-mm-kleine-Achse.html

https://www.teleskop-express.de/shop/product_info.php/info/p1668_TS-Optics-Newton-Fangspiegel-elliptisch---D-31-mm-kleine-Achse.html

The 94% reflectivity figure is typical of GSO so these are probably made there. The first two letters in their product code, GS, suggests the same origin, so they should be very good.

A simple way to decide is this ( assuming the scope is fully assembled )  :-