Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

My first real look at the night sky...

treetops

I'm a total newbie to astronomy, although all my life i've had a strong interest in the stars, the universe, and whats up there, and have always admired the night sky and wondered at it all, I've never really seen anything but specks of light, some brighter than others, figuring that I need a telescope before i can properly observe anything further.

Last night however, I grabbed some cheapish binoculars we brought on holiday a few years back and stepped outside. I looked up with the naked eye at first but coming from the brightness of indoors I couldn't see a lot, so I had a slow stroll round the garden letting my eyes adjust for a few minutes. I then spotted a familiar kite-shaped pattern of stars and decided to come back in and finally learn what it was i was looking at, so i opened a new program i'd just downloaded called Stellarium and from that I could see it was part of Orion, Orion's belt I believe and the 'kite' shape was the belt and part of Orion's sword. I then zoomed in using the software and could see that M42 (which I'd seen many pictures of in the past) was actually part of it, so I went back outside, aimed the binoculars, took a deep breath to steady myself and wow............. there it was, and I was absolutely blown away. I know you might think nothing of this, and reading up today i've found out it is actually visible with the naked eye, it really was a special moment for me. I guess it was my first real observing, and actually being able to identify something as awesome as that was just amazing. It was mighty cold but i kept going out for another look! Today we have family coming to stay, and if the weather clears and we are sober enough, (both very doubtful!) i'll be pointing this very spectacular sight out to them, as i know at least one of them will be interested.