Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Collimation secondary mirror position

Hi all,

I am new to collimating and have read a lot of conflicting posts, but I have given it a lot of tries. Can someone advise if there should be this much secondary mirror showing  in the view please? The black pipe is the chimney reflecting in the primary. It has been a frustrating few days so any advice/comments on this picture would be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks

George

mirror position.jpg

Just now, Moonshane said:

I'm struggling to see where your secondary edge is although you look close. Can you hold a piece of paper between the secondary and primary and take the photo again?

Hi. will this be any different from the regular collimation we do using the laser colimation? 

Looks good but the only way to be 100% sure is to do it with an artificial star, pinhole in front of a flashlight. Defocus a little so you see two or three rings around the central dot (at high power). When the dot is centered collimation of the mirrors is perfect.

Checking the centering of the mirror mark relative to tubes, vanes and mirror clips is not foolproof because of mechanical tolerances. However, relying on the diffraction pattern guarantees you'll have perfect adjustment of the mirrors relative to each other, not relative to other things that have no role in forming the image.

Remember it's collimation of the optics you want, not collimation of mechanical parts. For the same reason lasers are a good approximation but they are useless for fine tuning because they tell you nothing about where the central dot is in the actual star image. 

21 hours ago, Moonshane said:

I'm struggling to see where your secondary edge is although you look close. Can you hold a piece of paper between the secondary and primary and take the photo again?

19 hours ago, paul mc c said:

I think you are seeing so much secondary is because your focuser is racked to far in.