Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First Attempt with Pixinsight

MChandaue

Hi this is my first attempt at processing with pixinsight. Really poor data only about 30 mins of lights, same for darks, no flats or bias. Taken in heavily light polluted skies. I couldn’t do anything with this in photoshop. This is a very basic workflow, dynamic background extractor to remove most of the light pollution, colour calibration, denoise and then stretch. Finished off the levels in lightroom as I still haven’t got used to the histogram and curve tools in PI. 

It’s kind of good news/bad news. Well pleased with what I got from data I’d given up on. The bad news is I’m definitely going to have to buy PI once the trial runs out because it’s a joy to use despite the learning curve. Once I know what I’m doing with it and have clear dark skies to get some good data the sky is the limit. 

6BEB139B-8DF9-4B7D-AF68-5F9FB85306A0.jpeg

That looks really nice (certainly not poor as an end/interim result), I'm sure there's some more colour that could be teased out?

I was in the same boat as yourself, and there are some excellent tutorials by Harry Page, Light Vortex, You Tube etc that got be 10% proficient in a very powerful piece of software; but it covers 90% of my needs and worth every penny.

pc387

It’s not cheap but it is definitely worth the money. With very little effort you can really get amazing results. I found it far easier to use than photoshop and I can only imagine what’s possible once I learn how to use more of the tools. Given the time I think I could do a lot with this data. I will probably reprocess this many times as I learn what I’m doing. Can’t wait to get some clear skies so that I can get some good data with lights, flats, darks and bias. 

Nice first try. Some lovely dust lanes in those spiral arms.