NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Lunar X & V, a Tak, some binoviewers and a clear sky!

Stu

It was our club night last night, as Gavstar has posted about elsewhere. Gavin made an early start, setting up his NV arsenal because of an expected early finish, and I joined him around 7.30pm to set my little peashooter up mainly for some lunar viewing. I had some nice early views of the X and V, enough to confirm they would be around for a little while so at 8.15 I went to meet the other chaps in the pub for a crafty shandy ;).

We had two newcomers to our small group, one complete novice and @Captain Magenta, always nice to have new faces especially some with experience and a scope or two :). In addition to Gavin's TEC and C11, we had John with a home-built 10" f6.3 dob and Brian with his DSLR on an Astrotrac. I don't think Brian had much luck because of the moon and blobs of cloud but John managed the Lunar X for the first time which was great.

As mentioned in the title, my intention was to concentrate on the Moon last night so I fitted the binoviewers with normal barlow and extension giving me around x150. It felt a nice comfortable mag so I stuck with it, although the seeing was actually pretty stable and it would have taken more.

Obvious first targets were the X and V. I had viewed these earlier between 6 and 6.30 in the Heritage 130p at low power (main eyepieces packed in the car) and also my TAL Alkor 65mm Newt at x88 and x133 (it uses its own eyepiece/barlow combo). At that time the X was just finally forming and was hanging out into the blackness very nicely.

By 8pm, which was when I took the photo, it was fully formed and looking great. Whilst I have a kind of love hate relationship with binoviewers, for Lunar I am finally convinced of their value. I still suspect I might see a smidge more detail in cyclops mode, but the relaxation and lack of floaters is enough to persuade me that BVs are the way to go.