Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

My first attempt at DSO imaging

Hi everyone,

I thought I would share my first attempt at imaging on here as I have used this forum alot for advice from you guys. This is also my first post and would like to say thanks because I would have been clueless without this forum. I bought my scope around 3 months ago so I'm very new to astronomy. I have'nt had much chance to use it unfortunately because i live in the Uk lol I recently bought the dual axis motors with enhanced controller for my eq 3-2 and finally got to use it!! I would like feedback from you guys on my images on how to improve them espcially with regards to processing because i know even less about photo processing than i do about astronomy. Please be kind guys because I'm really pleased with what i managed to get and I'm not trying to win any awards for my images.

My set up is :

Skywatcher 150p on a eq3-2 mount

Dual axis motors with enhanced controller

Bahtinov mask

Canon 1000d ( unmodded )

Polar scope with new reticule

ringnebula.cropped.thumb.png.a0aeddfc0c2122a5e9dcb9dfa07b2d55.png

The final processed and cropped image - 112 30secs 800 ISO

I forgot to ask about this artifact which I get from my stacked image in processing. It looks like a ring in the middle of the image where its brighter than the outer edge. Is this just an effect from vignetting and if it is can i reduce or remove by taking flat frames?? Can it be removed in processing? I use GIMP for processingringnebula.artifact.thumb.png.d9c5bd1aecb9af39866dc2484dd20fdc.png