Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First Post-First Telescope

Hello :) I'm new to astronomy (and to this board) and was hoping for some advice. I've recently become interested in astronomy and want to buy a telescope, but I've now read so much info and looked at so many different telescopes that I'm having a bit of an information overload and now cannot decide if the telescope I'm considering buying in any good. Just wondered if you could give me your advice, would this scope be a good first scope? Or would there be another for around the same price that you would recommend?

thanks a lot in advance, chris

SkyLiner-150 153mm (6) f/1200 Parabolic Dobsonian

Magnifications (with eyepieces supplied): x48 & x120

Highest Practical Power (Potential): x306

Diameter of Primary Mirror: 153mm

Telescope Focal Length: 1200mm (f/7.84)

Eyepieces Supplied (1.25"): 10mm & 25mm

Parabolic Primary Mirror

Diffraction Limited Optics

0.5mm Ultra-Thin Secondary Mirror Supports

6x30 Finderscope

Direct SLR Camera Connection

Wooden Alt-Azimuth Mount with Accessory Tray

73% more Light Gathering than 114mm

£150

Hello Chris - and a very warm welcome to "SGL"

You will receive plenty of friendly and genuine advice from everyone on this forum!

You say you are suffering a bit of "overload" after studying all the many different scopes on offer. I'm sure 99% are all very good scopes in their own right, and the one you specifically mention "The Skyliner 150 Dobsonian," is an excellent scope to start off with!

However, before you rush out to buy one, have you considered such things as:-

Have you a good flat surface to base the scope on? (a paved area in your back garden).

Do you have somewhere secure and dry to store your scope - and get it out easily to use it?

Are you going to be wanting to take photographs of what you see?

There are many other considerations you may need to give some thought to before buying (sorry to add more burdons!).