Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Help please - Ritchey Chretien driving me mad

Apologies for posting in the 'getting started' section as I am not a total newbie but felt this was the most appropriate place to post my problem as this scope has made me feel like a total beginner.

Its a 6" Ritchey Chretien - Altair Astro - bought used. 

Its on a HEQ5 and attached to it is a Moonlite focuser with electronic stepper motor, Atik EFW2 and Atik 460EX

The guiding is spot on (ST80 with Lodestar) and well proven with another scope.

I have tried every trick in the book to achieve a decent star shape to absolutely no avail - this is a brief summary of what I have done. (Based on reading every document and watching every YouTube video under the sun) and having bought a Howie Glatter laser collimator and diffraction grid to assist - which cost as much as the scope!)

1. Made sure that the laser collimator is collimated
  2. Made sure that the primary mirror is not pinched or too slack and that the drawtube is orthagonal to the primary mirror by laser test
  3. Collimated the primary so that the laser exits exactly through the central mounting hole for the secondary. Later checked that the laser lines up with the middle of the circle in the middle of the secondary.
  4. Collimated the secondary so that the laser returns exactly to the source point.
  5. Platesolved the resulting images to check that the focal length is correct (1370mm) and adjusted the distance between the two mirrors until the focal length is spot on - then repeated all the above steps as this alteration changes the collimation.
  6. The diffraction pattern as per the many videos looks spot on. A peek through a quality Cheshire confirms everything is spot on.
  7. Fitted the AP CCDT67 reducer. (I have also tried it without the reducer and the results are just the same but a narrower field of view)

I expected after all that effort to have tight sharp stars.