Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

DSS still a problem, or is it me??

Ok, so carrying on from my last post a couple of weeks back where I explained that I am completely new to imaging. About 3 months ago I did a pretty poor image of M31; even though it was poor it was definitely recognisable and I was quite pleased. I then did an image of M 37 (open Cluster) and this was slightly better.....all good, so full of enthusiasm I then tried to image M81 & m82 In Ursa Major. The individual subs,  I thought looked ok: by now though I found that Deep Sky Stacker 3.3.2 was not working properly and it was necessary to download DSS 3.3.4., so I put ( as I have already previously explained....sorry!) these through the new DSS, all I ended with though was a very blurry image with very wiggly star trails!!? I tried numerous times with varying numbers of subs but the result is always the same. As an analogy, the before and after are like having a sheet of A4 paper (my sub) and then putting it through a shredder (DSS!!).  Anyway, I had an opportunity to attempt The orion Nebula (m42) the other night. All the subs, about 20 of them, look pretty good (from my very inexperienced imaging point of view...... ((I enclose one)) so again I put them through DSS and end up with the same result as before; a very blurry blob and some wiggly star trails. What on earth is going on??  The star count was between 60 and 150 stars. Do I need to download a more serious bit of software to proceed; and also will my current computer cope; I gather the processor speed etc etc all need to be pretty top notch!?

M 42.jpg