NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

What should I expect to see

I received a Celestron Nexstar Evolution 8 for Christmas, I am a newbie to Astronomy and am enjoying learning about my new hobby and having loads of fun. But what should I expect to see from my new scope apart from white dots, what other equipment do I need to make the most of my new scope?

Unfortunately, stars are dots, for the very simple reason of distance. On ground level we'll not expect to see much more than that.

However, not all are white; in fact few actually are.

As an example, Albireo is a nice target double star which will resolve in the C8, one blue, one yellow.

A book, Turn left at Orion, shows what you can realistically expect to see with the sort of equipment we use i.e. not Hubble images stacked from hundreds of hours of exposures :)

There is also additional resource that can be used, in conjunction with said publication, to be found at http://www.cambridge.org/features/turnleft/pages/seasonal_skies/jan-mar/in_orion_the_orion_nebula_M42_and_M43.htm

If you have a DSLR, then an T-ring (specific to the manufacturer of your DSLR) and an M42/T2 to 1.25" nosepiece ( c£35 for the pair of well made ones) will let you put the camera in place of eye piece. You can then get pictures which will show more detail that the eye will.

The attached was with a Canon DSLR attached to Celestron C8 SCT (very similar to yours) as described showing Albireo A & B

ALBIREO_LIGHT_Tv15s_3200iso_f10_+23c_20160905-23h01m07s512ms.jpg

Just now, iapa said:

A book, Turn left at Orion, will show what you can realistically expect to see with the sort of equipment we use i.e. not Hubble images stacked from hundreds of hours of exposures :)

There is also additional resource that can be used, in conjunction with said publication, to be found at http://www.cambridge.org/features/turnleft/pages/seasonal_skies/jan-mar/in_orion_the_orion_nebula_M42_and_M43.htm

Thank you, I have that book on order.