NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Help, What Telescope Should I Buy????

Hi Everyone,

I am a Cabbie who works nights, often staring up into space and wishing I had a better view, thus have decided to buy a scope. As a beginner don't want to spend too much cash (around the £100 mark) in case don't like.

Looking for a scope to see the moon and some planets, is this achievable on this budget?

Have seen the Celestron Astromaster 114EQ on ebay for this money, would this be a good buy? Any other Scopes you could recommend?

Not too fussed about the scope being new or used, just looking for the best results within a very small budget.

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

Hi,

To be honest you will probably be better off investing in a decent pair of binoculars and use them to develop your interest in the night skies. A pair of 10x50's can be had for less than £50 and will show you much more than your eyes can.

John

Hi,

I'm a newbie to I have bought a telescope and a pair on binoculars. To be honest the binoculars have shown me loads, for portability and cost I reckon you'd not go far wrong and if you really get into then the headache of choosing a first scope! I also got a copy of stargazing with binoculars published by Phillips, good book to have by your side.

Neil

Thanks for all the imput really appreciated.

Kai, Mercury scope looks good, thanks, what realistically would I able to view clearly with such a scope? How does this scope compare with the Celestron scope I mentioned earlier? Does the Mercury scope come with everything needed to get me going, would I find I would need to purchase extras?

Rawhead, Thanks for the help, Bristol is a little far as I am based in Southend, Essex.

Binos, are a no no. I really fancy the idea of sitting in the garden beer in hand stargazing, couldn't drink whilst holding the binos.