NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Brand new first ever Telescope

Hi everyone. I would love some help please! I just unpacked my first ever Telescope, so excited to use it! I apologise if my questions are a bit silly! The small scope, on top of the Telescope shows everything upside down, is this right?! Also any tips on getting started would be very much appreciated, I am completely new to it! Thank you so much for reading.

• Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply
2 minutes ago, Louise Hicks said:

Hi everyone. I would love some help please! I just unpacked my first ever Telescope, so excited to use it! I apologise if my questions are a bit silly! The small scope, on top of the Telescope shows everything upside down, is this right?! Also any tips on getting started would be very much appreciated, I am completely new to it! Thank you so much for reading.

Hello and welcome to SGL. The finderscope on the top of your main scope is a refractor and the inverted image is normal for this type of telescope.

1 minute ago, Louise Hicks said:

My next newbies question, How do you take photos of the stars you see?!! I see them all the time and would love to take some of my own but have no clue where to start. Xxx

Ah! Already lured towards the arcane Dark Art of astrophotograpy.

Oh my, are you gonna have fun!

2 minutes ago, Louise Hicks said:

It is a Skylux 70/700. Does that help?!

Yep. Now we know the animal we're dealing with. 

Hope you get clear skies and that you enjoy first light with it. Just don't expect to see what you see in magazines. You won't see those images through the eyepiece of any telescope.

Welcome to SGL Louise. :)