Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

How to remove secondary mirror support from Dob

Before you remove the secondary and the vanes. Measure the centre of the vane from each side. Then measure again or make a template out of card so you can replace the vanes in the correct position as near as centred as poss. Remove secondary mirror then remove vanes using the small locating screws you have identified. You could consider fitting Bobs knobs when you put everything back which will make collimating much easier. Best of luck. 

Excellent, thanks. Do you mean measure the centre of the secondary holder from each side? I'm new to Newt maintenance!

Yes I've already fitted Mark's nobs (like Bobs but cheaper) and I intend to flock the secondary edges whilst it's out. Do people flock the vanes too?

Not sure I've understood actually - do I remove the secondary holder by unscrewing the central screw before removing the vanes from the scope? Not sure how to remove the vanes from the scope.

It looks like if I twist the big knobs on the outside of the tune (pictured above) it will twist the spider vanes. Could be wrong, but they are very stiff.

9 hours ago, Commanderfish said:

Excellent, thanks. Do you mean measure the centre of the secondary holder from each side? I'm new to Newt maintenance!

Yes I've already fitted Mark's nobs (like Bobs but cheaper) and I intend to flock the secondary edges whilst it's out. Do people flock the vanes too?

Yes I made a small template from thick card that spans the diameter of the tube opening and marked the centre of the card. Loosen the centre screw  holding the mirror first. Not heard of the vanes being flocked. You also need to hold the vanes tight while you unscrew the holding screws or they will twist.

I don't see any reason to loosen the centre screw, it just makes it more likely that you will have more to do collimating it when you put it back in.